Oyegun, Ameachi, Joda, Others, make Buhari’s Transition Team

Oyegun, Ameachi, Joda, Others, make Buhari’s Transition Team

News Update No Comments

Governor of Rivers State, Rotimi Amaechi, national chairman of the All Progressives Congress (APC), Chief John Odigie-Oyegun, Senator Audu Ogbeh and 16 others have been ‎inaugurated as members of the 19-man transition committee set up by the president-elect, Gen Muhammadu Buhari.

The committee, which is to liaise with its federal government counterpart to ensure a smooth transition, has two weeks to conclude its work.

In a statement issued in Abuja on Wednesday by the national publicity secretary of the All Progressives Congress (APC), Alhaji Lai Mohammed, it was disclosed that the terms of reference of the committee which is headed by Malam Ahmed Joda‎, includes to develop a clear framework for liaison with the out-going administration for purposes of a smooth hand-over/take-over and to receive hand-over documents from ministries, departments and agencies and itemise the most important or most urgent issues confronting the in-coming government.

The statement added that “the committee is also saddled with reviewing and making preliminary assessment of the balance sheet of government with particular emphasis on the status of assets and liabilities of government; cash flow position of the government; quantum of public domestic and external debt of government and their deployment; government’s out-standing contractual obligations and its ability to meet such obligations and the status of implementation of capital projects.

“The committee is also expected to undertake a preliminary assessment of the security challenges facing the country and the counter-insurgency measures taken by the government thus far; the counter policy measures being implemented in the Niger Delta to deal with unrest and major economic crimes in the area. In particular, the status of the Amnesty Programme, the readiness of the Police and other national security and intelligence agencies in addressing threats to law and order and provide a brief over-view of CBN, NNPC, NCC, Customs and FIRS.”

Other terms of reference of the committee include to suggest “quick fixes” which will result in tangible, visible and practical measures so that “change” will be seen after 30 days, after 100 days, after 6 months of the administration taking office, and to make any other observations which in view of the committee would be helpful to the transition and take-off of the new administration.

Speaking at the inauguration in Abuja on Wednesday, the president-elect charged the committee, asking them to ”assess the information provided to you and advise me on its quality and accuracy. It is a simple matter that you must have the right information if you are to shape appropriate policy decisions.

”Needless to repeat, that your committee – and indeed our government – are not on a witch-hunt or engaged in fault-finding. We want the facts

and nothing but the facts. What has been done can not be undone. Our job is to learn from the mistakes of the past and attempt to avoid similar.”

Gen. Buhari hailed the calibre of the committee’s membership, saying they represent some of the best Nigeria can offer. He described the committee chairman, Malam Ahmed Joda, as one of the few surviving links between First Republic civil service to the present day, a man whose versatility includes farming, industry and 21st Century IT and one of Nigerian’s precious assets.

‎Other members of the committee are Dr Doyin Salami, vice-chairman‎; Mr Boss Mustapha; Mal. Muhammad Hayatuddin; Alh. Abubakar Malami (SAN);‎  Brig. Gen. Lawal Jafaru Isa; Sen. Hadi Sirika; Barrister Dalong; Mrs Bola Adesola and Mr Wale Edun.

Mrs Nike Aboderin; Dr Ogbonnaya Onu; Mr Festus Odimegwu; Chief John Oyegun; Gov. Rotimi Amaechi; Dr Tam David West; Alh.Lai Mohammed are also members of the committee, with Mal Adamu Adamu as its secretary.

Leave a comment

All Right Reserved.
Designed by www.34ZYMedia.com

Back to Top