Primaries: Chukwumerije, Ndoma-Egba lose, Mark wins

Primaries: Chukwumerije, Ndoma-Egba lose, Mark wins

News Update, Politics No Comments



The Peoples Democratic Party primaries held in various states of the federation on Sunday produced some surprises as a number of incumbents lost their bids to return to the National Assembly.

Prominent among those who lost were a three-term senator and Chairman of the Senate Committee on Education, Uche Chukwumerije and the Senate Majority Leader, Victor Ndoma-Egba.

The Chairman, Mobilisation and Organisation committee of the PDP in the South-West, Buruji Kashamu, however, won in the Ogun East Senatorial District.

Violence rocks PDP, APC primaries in Ogun

There were pockets of crises during   the PDP senatorial   and All Progressives Congress House of Representatives primaries in various parts of the state.

Kashamu defeated Mrs Temidayo Oriola and Daisi Akintan.

His main rival and a former governor of the state, Otunba Gbenga Daniel,   was said have earlier withdrawn from the race. But his name was still mentioned at the venue of the primary election by the electoral officers as one of the contestants.

In Ogun-West, Waliu Taiwo emerged winner with 191 votes, having defeated four other contestants.

Voting by delegates in Ogun-East and Ogun-West was peaceful but it was different in Ogun Central where it was postponed till Tuesday because of tension.

Trouble began   when some hoodlums were said to have invaded the PDP secretariat in Abeokuta, the venue of the Ogun Central primary. This made   some politicians to   allege malpractice by their rivals.

One of our correspondents gathered that the loyalists of the two contestants – a former member of the House of Representatives, Lanre Laoshe and wife of Chief Edwin Clark, Dr. Bisola Sodipo-Clark – almost had a direct confrontation.

According to the state secretary of PDP, Mr. Semiu Sodipo, the two contestants were ‘uncooperative.’

He said, “There was tension among the delegates of the two contestants and so we had to postpone the primary till Tuesday.”

The APC House of Representatives primaries in the state were marred with violence in some centres.

At the Centenary Hall, Ake, Abeokuta, one of the venues of the primaries for the Abeokuta South Federal constituency, policemen   had to fire tear gas canisters   to disperse the delegates.

It was gathered that when it was obvious that a contestant favoured by the leadership of the party in the state was losing, they   truncated the process through a directive.

“We learnt a directive was issued from above that the voting should be discontinued,” one of the politicians who pleaded anonymity told one of our correspondents.

Also in Ijebu Ife,   the venue of the primaries for Ijebu East/ Ijebu North/ Ogun Waterside Federal Constituency, political thugs reportedly opened fire on delegates.

As of press time, many of the APC primaries had   yet to be concluded.

The APC spokesman in the state, Sola Lawal, did not pick his telephone when one of our correspondents called him.


Politicians in the camp of the immediate past Minister of State for Defence, Senator Musiliu Obanikoro, cleared the three Lagos senatorial districts during the PDP senatorial primaries. They   beat the aspirants loyal to the leader of the party in the state, Chief Olabode George.

In the Lagos-Central Senatorial District, Mr. Ade Dosunmu, who was the governorship candidate of the party in 2011 beat a former Commissioner for Physical Planning, Mr. Hakeem Gbajabiamila, who had the support of George.

In Lagos-West senatorial district,   Mr. Segun Adewale (aka Aeroland), clinched the   ticket by defeating Moshood Salvador.

In Lagos-East, Mrs. Olabisi Owolabi-Salis, beat Gbenga Osinowo to win the primary election.

Results of the House of Representatives primaries of the APC   so far announced show that , Ademola Akiolu, a son of the Oba of Lagos, Rilwan, lost his bid to represent the Lagos Island Federal constituency.

He was defeated by Enitan Badru.

In the Ifako-Ijaye Federal Constituency, Mr. Adewale Elijah,   defeated the incumbent, Mr. Yomi Ogunnusi, who is the current deputy chairman of the House Committee on Finance.

In Ikorodu, Mr. Jimi Benson, who is a son of an Ikorodu leader, Mr. Babatunde Benson (SAN), scored 695 votes out of 941 votes to clinch the APC ticket. Earlier, the lawmaker currently representing the constituency, Mrs. Abike Dabiri-Erewa, had stepped down.

In Agege, the Chairman of the Orile-Agege Local Council Development Area, Mr. Taofik Adaranijo, defeated the current lawmaker representing the constituency, Dr. Samuel Adejare, to clinch the ticket of the party.

Mr. Taiwo Adenekan won in the Ajeromi federal constituency.

Mr. Abiodun Faleke, who currently represents the Ikeja Federal Constituency will again fly the party’s flag in the February poll.

In   the Oshodi Federal Constituency 1, Mr. Muyiwa Olabimtan, defeated Mr. Lateef Raji, who is the Special Adviser on Information and Strategy to the Lagos State Governor, Mr. Babatunde Fashola.

Also, Wole Diya, younger brother of a former Chief of General Staff, Maj.Gen Oladipo Diya (retd.), won the primary to represent the APC at the Somolu Federal Constituency.

Diya, a former member of the House of Representatives polled 199 votes to defeat Sesan Olanrewaju who scored 192 votes and Gbenga Abdullahi who polled 76 votes.

A former Chief Press Secretary to former Governor Bola Tinubu, Mr. Kehinde Bamigbetan, who is the immediate past chairman of the Ejigbo LCDA, won in the Oshodi federal constituency 2

The Majority Leader of the House of Representatives, Mr. Femi Gbajabiamila, who is running for a fourth term, won   at the Surulere Federal Constituency 1 by a landslide.


The state Commissioner for Sports and Youth Development Umar Arisekola-Alao,   lost his bid for the APC ticket in the Ibadan North Federal Constituency.

The incumbent, Abiodun Awoleye, was declared winner with Arisekola-Alao coming second.

However, Dapo Lam-Adesina who is the son of the state’s former governor Lam, won his bid to fly the party’s flag in the Ibadan South-East/North-East Constituency. He is currently serving as the state’s Commissioner for Industry, Applied Science and Technology.

In Akinyele/Lagelu local government areas, a member of the state House of Assembly beat Adigun Hammed to the ticket while Mathew Abioye picked the ticket in Surulere/Ogo Oluwa.

At the end of voting in Irepo/Oorelope councils, Bosun Oladele was declared winner while Saheed Fijabi beat Kola Ajadi and Rotimi Ajanaku to pick the ticket for re-election in Ibadan North-West/South-West.


The son of a former Governor of Ondo State, Gboyega Adefarati,, was among the losers in the contest for APC ticket.

Adefarati lost the Akoko South West/East to Babatunde Kolawole, while Friday Olemija won in the Akoko North East/West.

In Ilaje/Ese Odo Federal Constituency, Mr. Lucky Aiyedatiwa, emerged the candidate   after defeating Benson Enikuomehin.

Also, in Akure South/North, a former state House of Assembly lawmaker, Afe Olowookere,   defeated his closest rival,   Shaka Yusuf.

In Ondo West/East, there was a consensus arrangement among the party delegates.   Dele Olanubi emerged as the candidate.


Source: Punch News

Leave a comment

All Right Reserved.
Designed by

Back to Top